7 Malaysians get Merdeka Award

21 SEPTEMBER 2018, BY New Straits Times

KUALA LUMPUR: Seven Malaysians, out of 49 recipients, were conferred the Merdeka Award in recognition of their contributions and achievements in their fields.
The Merdeka Award, conferred on outstanding individuals and organizations that embody the “Spirit of Merdeka” in their pursuit of excellence, was first established in 2007 by Petroliam Nasional Bhd, ExxonMobil Bhd and Shell Bhd.
Hassan Abd Mutalib won in the field of education and community; Gurmit Singh K.S (environment); Dr Mohd Hair Bejo and Professor Dr G an Ee Kang (health, ccience and technology); and, Datuk Dr Khoo Kay Kim and Professor Dr Raja Rasiah (outstanding scholastic achievement).
Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah, who is also the royal patron of the Merdeka Award, presented the awards. Petronas president and chief executive officer Tan Sri Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin said the award was presented to ordinary people who had gone above and beyond to perform extraordinary feats. “The Merdeka Award is a fitting salute to their achievements. “They have left lasting legacies that continue to deliver dividends to society.”



Dr Edison Lee Tian Khoon
Dr Edison headed to Sweden’s Uppsala University, where he joined the Department of Chemistry, Ångström Laboratory, as part of his attachment stint. He is currently carrying out active research in polymer electrolyte and nanomaterials for Lithium-ion batteries. Read more about him here:
Innovating the Energy Ecosystem
Chrishen R. Gomez
Having attended the prestigious Ivy League Brown University as part of his attachment programme, 27-year-old Chrishen is now with the Wildlife Research and Conservation Unit at Oxford University. Chrishen is busy developing a genetic-based research project on the Sunda Clouded Leopard. Read more about him here: Conserving Our Forests & Future
Dr Zetty
Dr Zetty is currently working on anti-cancer compounds found in Malaysian seaweed and has continued to pursue her original project proposal of microalgae vaccine carriers for fish. A working solution has been patented by Dr Zetty and will be deployed within the coming year.
We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience and for analytical purposes. By continuing to browse, you are deemed to accept our use of cookies. Learn more about disabling cookies and our Privacy Statement here.