Raja Nazrin Chairman of Merdeka Award

24 MARCH 2012, BY Yahoo Malaysia

KUALA LUMPUR, March 24 (Bernama) -- The Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah has accepted the invitation to assume the role of Chairman of the Merdeka Award Board of Trustees.

A statement by Merdeka Award Trust today said this gracious support will go a long way in contributing to the lasting success of the Merdeka Award which is envisaged as Malaysia’s most esteemed honour in celebrating the nation’s true spirit of independence.

The Merdeka Award was launched in 2007 by PETRONAS, ExxonMobil and Shell, in conjunction with the celebration of Malaysia’s 50th anniversary of independence.

The award is conferred on individuals and/or organisations – Malaysians as well as non-Malaysians - whose excellent work have made outstanding and lasting contributions to the nation and the people of Malaysia, in their respective fields.

There are five award categories: Education & Community; Environment; Health, Science & Technology; Outstanding Scholastic Achievement; Outstanding Contribution to the People of Malaysia (open only to Non-Malaysians) and each award categories carries a cash prize of RM500,000 and a throphy.



We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience and for analytical purposes. By continuing to browse, you are deemed to accept our use of cookies. Learn more about disabling cookies and our Privacy Statement here.