The Merdeka Award to announce 2011 recipients on 22nd August, 2011

04 JULY 2011, BY Merdeka Award

The Merdeka Award, Malaysia’s foremost award for excellence, will announce the 2011 Merdeka Award recipients on 22nd August, 2011, following a long, stringent nomination and selection process.

Launched on 27th July 2007 through the combined efforts of PETRONAS, Shell and ExxonMobil, the Merdeka Award aims to reward and recognise Malaysians and non-Malaysians who have made outstanding and lasting contributions to the nation and the people of Malaysia, in their respective fields. 

Awards are given entirely on merit; one of the cornerstones of the Merdeka Award is the integrity of its selection process.   The Merdeka Award recipient is awarded a certificate, a trophy and prize money of RM500,000.

The Award is presented annually in Kuala Lumpur by the Patron, the Honourable Prime Minister of Malaysia, in the areas of Education & Community; Environment; Health, Science & Technology; Outstanding Scholastic Achievement; and Outstanding Contribution to the People of Malaysia.   This year’s award ceremony will be held on 10th October, 2011, at the Dewan Filharmonik PETRONAS.

Watch out for more news on this year’s Merdeka Award recipients in coming weeks!

We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience and for analytical purposes. By continuing to browse, you are deemed to accept our use of cookies. Learn more about disabling cookies and our Privacy Statement here.