HRH Raja Nazrin Shah is Chairman of the Merdeka Award Trust

25 MARCH 2012, BY Merdeka Award

His Royal Highness Raja Dr Nazrin Shah Ibni Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah, Crown Prince of Perak Darul Ridzuan, has graciously consented to accept the invitation to assume the role of Chairman of the Merdeka Award Board of Trustees, the Merdeka Award announced on Friday.

His Royal Highness’ appointment signifies a shared commitment to strengthen the stature and prestige of the Merdeka Award as the nation’s premier award. The appointment also reflects the independence of the Merdeka Award and is in line with the Award’s commitment to corporate governance.

This landmark appointment is envisioned to take the Merdeka Award to the next level of excellence.

As a distinguished and eminent leader, His Royal Highness’ support will go a long way in contributing to the lasting success of the Merdeka Award, the nation's highest award of excellence, and one that celebrates the true spirit of the nation's independence -- the ideals of the inner freedom that inspire outstanding new ideas and achievements.

His Royal Highness holds a B.A. (Hons) in Philosophy, Politics and Economics from the University of Oxford, United Kingdom, a Master in Public Administration from Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, and a Ph.D. in Political Economy and Government from Harvard University, U.S.A.

His Royal Highness currently holds the following distinguished positions: Pro-Chancellor of the University of Malaya; Financial Ambassador of the Malaysian International Islamic Financial Centre (MIFC); Member of the Board of Trustees of the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies, University of Oxford; Honorary Fellow of Worcester College, University of Oxford; Honorary Member of Magdalene College, University of Cambridge; Eminent Fellow of the Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS) Malaysia; Royal Fellow of the Malaysian Institute of Defense and Security (MIDAS); and Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Malay College, Kuala Kangsar.

Launched in 2007 by PETRONAS, ExxonMobil and Shell as an initiative of the oil & gas industry in Malaysia, the Merdeka Award represents the most prestigious platform to honour individuals and organisations that have contributed in an exceptional way to the people of Malaysia.  To date, a total of 14 individuals and two organisations have been accorded the Merdeka Award.



Dr Edison Lee Tian Khoon
Dr Edison headed to Sweden’s Uppsala University, where he joined the Department of Chemistry, Ångström Laboratory, as part of his attachment stint. He is currently carrying out active research in polymer electrolyte and nanomaterials for Lithium-ion batteries. Read more about him here:
Innovating the Energy Ecosystem
Chrishen R. Gomez
Having attended the prestigious Ivy League Brown University as part of his attachment programme, 27-year-old Chrishen is now with the Wildlife Research and Conservation Unit at Oxford University. Chrishen is busy developing a genetic-based research project on the Sunda Clouded Leopard. Read more about him here: Conserving Our Forests & Future
Dr Zetty
Dr Zetty is currently working on anti-cancer compounds found in Malaysian seaweed and has continued to pursue her original project proposal of microalgae vaccine carriers for fish. A working solution has been patented by Dr Zetty and will be deployed within the coming year.
We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience and for analytical purposes. By continuing to browse, you are deemed to accept our use of cookies. Learn more about disabling cookies and our Privacy Statement here.