Recognising Excellence at 2014 Merdeka Award Presentation Ceremony

09 DECEMBER 2014
Six Outstanding Individuals Receive Nation's Most Prestigious Award
Six distinguished individuals took center stage at the Dewan Filharmonik PETRONAS, Kuala Lumpur, on 8th December, 2014, when they receive the 2014 Merdeka Award from the Royal Patron of the Merdeka Award Trust, His Royal Highness the Sultan of Perak Darul Ridzuan, Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Azlan Muhibbudin Shah Al-Maghfur-Lah.

The presentation of the 2014 Merdeka Award marks the Award's seventh year of recognising outstanding individuals and organisations that have made significant achievements and sustainable contributions to Malaysia and her people in their respective fields.

His Royal Highness Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah said in his speech: “These individuals have been willing to take risks, learn from failure, act with integrity, nurture their expertise, follow their passion and pursue their dreams through hard work and sacrifice.”

The recipients of the 2014 Merdeka Award are:
Education and Community: DATUK MOHD NOR KHALID (LAT)
For outstanding contribution to the promotion and pluralism of Malaysia’s cultural identity through the use of cartoons and for the promotion of understanding and respect among Malaysia’s diverse ethnic communities.
For outstanding contribution to wildlife research and conservation through the setting up of captive breeding centres as well as for pioneering and successfully managing the human-wildlife conflict in affected areas.
Health, Science and Technology: DATUK DR CHOO YUEN MAY
For outstanding contribution to the development of novel, efficient and green processes for the palm-based industry through research and commercialisation of various technologies.
Outstanding Scholastic Achievement: PROFESSOR DR ABDUL LATIF AHMAD (Joint Recipient)
For outstanding contribution to the scholarly research and development of technologies in the areas of polymer science, wastewater treatment and membrane separation technology.
Outstanding Scholastic Achievement: PROFESSOR DR AHMAD FAUZI ISMAIL (Joint Recipient)
For outstanding contribution to scholarly research and the development of technologies for commercialisation in membrane performance for both gas separation, and water and wastewater treatment.
Outstanding Contribution to the People of Malaysia: DATO SRI GATHORNE, EARL OF CRANBROOK
For outstanding contribution in pioneering research and conservation of Malaysia’s forest biodiversity and the ecology and biology of Malaysian mammals and birds, and for advocating environmental conservation.

The Founding Members of the Merdeka Award were represented by Tan Sri Dato’ Shamsul Azhar Abbas, President and Group CEO, PETRONAS; Mr See Kok Yew, Chairman of the ExxonMobil Subsidiaries in Malaysia and Mr Iain Lo, Chairman, Shell Malaysia.

The Presentation ceremony included acceptance speeches by each of the recipients and performances by the 88-members of the Malaysian Philharmonic Youth Orchestra (MPYO), under the leadership of conductor Ahmad Muriz Che Rose. The MPYO was accompanied by Malaysian vocalists Ella and Juwita Suwito. 

Eminent Malaysians from the corporate, academic, industry, government and non-governmental sectors attended the ceremony. 

The Presentation marks the completion of the rigorous annual Merdeka Award nomination and selection process both in Malaysia and internationally, of outstanding Malaysians and non-Malaysians who have contributed to the nation, in each of the categories. 

The search for nominees, which begins in January each year focuses on achievements and not personalities. In evaluating the achievements, members of the Nomination and Selection committees looked for original, significant and sustained achievements for their contribution to Malaysia. 

Since its establishment in 2007, and including the 2014 recipients, 28 individuals and two organisations have received the Merdeka Award. Each recipient receives the Merdeka Award Trophy, the Merdeka Award Work of Art, a Certificate of Recognition and a cash award of RM500,000. Joint recipients equally share the cash award.

For more information and for the latest updates on The Merdeka Award and its activities, log on to the following sites:



Dr Edison Lee Tian Khoon
Dr Edison headed to Sweden’s Uppsala University, where he joined the Department of Chemistry, Ångström Laboratory, as part of his attachment stint. He is currently carrying out active research in polymer electrolyte and nanomaterials for Lithium-ion batteries. Read more about him here:
Innovating the Energy Ecosystem
Chrishen R. Gomez
Having attended the prestigious Ivy League Brown University as part of his attachment programme, 27-year-old Chrishen is now with the Wildlife Research and Conservation Unit at Oxford University. Chrishen is busy developing a genetic-based research project on the Sunda Clouded Leopard. Read more about him here: Conserving Our Forests & Future
Dr Zetty
Dr Zetty is currently working on anti-cancer compounds found in Malaysian seaweed and has continued to pursue her original project proposal of microalgae vaccine carriers for fish. A working solution has been patented by Dr Zetty and will be deployed within the coming year.
We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience and for analytical purposes. By continuing to browse, you are deemed to accept our use of cookies. Learn more about disabling cookies and our Privacy Statement here.